My Writing Process Blog Tour

Hello friends,

I have been pulled into a wonderful aspect of the internet, the blog tour. I’ve done one before, but this one is dedicated to writing so of course I figured this was the best way to try it out.

First, I want to thank Barbara Ehrentreu from Barbara’s Musings for inviting me to this tour. Here’s more about her. Just click her blog name above to visit her blog.

Barbara E at Muse's book signing_ copyBarbara lives with her family in Stamford, CT. She is the author of a young adult novel, If I Could Be Like Jennifer Taylor and has another novel, After, also young adult, coming this fall. She has contributed to Prompted: An International Collection of Poetry and Beyond the Dark Room. Several of her poems are published in various magazines online. Poetry comes to her when she needs to express what she is feeling.

So here’s a secret look into my writing process:

What am I currently working on?

I am doing double right now. I’m finishing the very last fine tuning on my book, Meeting Ms. Monroe. It’s a novel about Marilyn Monroe, with a twist. I’ve also begun work on another novel about a police officer that can handle anything on the job and his only fear is losing his wife. This fear becomes real when she gets sick and he has to be her caregiver. Here he learns that all his skills haven’t prepared him for the battle against illness and the travails of taking care of someone you love.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

Well, the biggest thing is I don’t stick with one genre. My first book was a memoir called Happy Beginnings: How I Became My Own Fairy  Godmother. My next two books, Beatrice Munson and House on Plunkett Street, would probably be chick lit. My third and fourth novels, The X and Coaster, were thrillers laced with whodunnits. My next book is kinda a historical fiction about Marilyn Monroe. I guess that’s what makes me different. I don’t stay in one genre.

Why do I write/create what I do?

Well because the stories want to be written. I get an idea and I write it down as soon as I can. I write whatever I think or see about characters, situations, or plot. I don’t worry about anything but getting the words onto paper. Then I save it. When the time is right the book tells me it’s ready to be written.

    How does my writing/creating process work?

Usually I get an idea. And that idea can have been in my head for a while working its way to the surface or I can go somewhere and something can get triggered. But once I’ve done the initial purge of characters and such then I wait. When the story is ready I start writing. I don’t really outline other than the one page quick synopsis. That’s because a lot of time the characters take me in different directions. Then I just start writing. I don’t worry about the way it looks but what the work is saying.  I just write down what I see in my mind. After each time I’ve written I start at the beginning and read up to the point I’ve gotten. During this part I clean things up and streamline. That’s why I write every day so that I don’t lose the voice of the characters and writing.

It’s been fun to share a bit about how I work. I’d like to introduce you to a wonderful new voice on the writing scene, Peggy Nolan. Please go visit her and her take on her writing process.

peggy picPeggy Nolan is a self proclaimed vanquisher of fear, slayer of self-doubt and she’s determined to be courageously creative. Peggy recently published her award winning flash fiction piece, The Hunger, to Kindle. You can keep up with Peggy on her website, PeggyNolan.com, where she sprinkles love and magic into everything she writes. Peggy lives in Derry, NH with her husband, Richard.

 

 

 

One thought on “My Writing Process Blog Tour

  1. Lorena, I just wanted to correct you. My blog name is Barbara’s Meanderings. You have the link right, though. I enjoyed reading about your writing process. In many ways it is similar to mine. Thank you for being on this tour with me. I’m going to check out Peggy Nolan now.

Leave a Reply

