Research Brings Insight

Chinese Chippendale railings on Monticello's r...

Chinese Chippendale railings on Monticello’s roof (topmost level) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

As an author it becomes important to do research. Depending on the books you are writing, research can be an activity you do every day.

My first few books I didn’t have to research very much. They were written in current times and with knowledge I already had acquired. But the novels I am working on now both took research. I baby-stepped into the research pool with my Marilyn Monroe novel. And now I am diving into the deep end with the novel I’m working on about Thomas and Martha Jefferson.

Here’s what I’ve been learning from this endeavor:

1) I didn’t learn as much as I thought I did in school.
2) I am glad I wasn’t born in Colonial days.
3) I love sanitation services, garbage men, and the inventor of the grocery store.
4) The dynamic between men and women has changed SO dramatically.

These are just a few of my insights through researching my recent novel.

In Colonial times men and women really relied on each other. There wasn’t a competitive factor or ‘I don’t need you’ ideal behind their relationship. Men and women needed each other to survive. Perhaps that’s the key…survival. In colonial times survival was your first priority and so you learned early on that you couldn’t do it on your own. You needed others and especially you needed whomever you choose as your partner.

Interesting concept, huh? Working together instead of against each other? Where could that idea greatly help progress our lives and even our society?

Through this research I figured out that while I can’t change everyone, I can change me. I can look at things differently. I can work with others better. I can delegate to those who may be better qualified than me. I can’t do it all.

Research really works, doesn’t it?

Lorena Bathey
Author/Publisher
http://www.LorenaBBooks.com

Enhanced by Zemanta
5 thoughts on “Research Brings Insight

  1. I’m one of those people who hates research! 🙂 I rely on my husband for that and he loves to do it. I guess that’s working together! Love the lessons you shared. I wouldn’t want to go back to colonial times but yes, there are some valuable lessons to be learned from those times.

  2. Since I have learned that my soul’s life lesson is that I need to learn how to have deep intimate relationships and now be a warrior maiden who does it all alone I concur! My type of research was astrological though – funny how the same lessons show up 🙂

  3. To your list of what to be grateful for, I would add:
    1. Antibiotics
    2. Modern mattresses (can you imagine sleeping on vermin-filled straw mattresses? Lord have mercy.)
    3. Warm showers.
    While I like to visit past eras in books or movies, I appreciate modern medicine and amenities. We are so blessed.

  4. I don’t love research–and I had a career in academia! I guess it’s a love/hate relationship, because I know how critical proper research is. An historical novel must require a huge amount of research to make the story ring true. Hope you are enjoying the colonial life–from the comfort of modern life, of course!

Leave a Reply

