The mind does terrible things!

I’ve decided to move forward and follow my passion and do what I love.  I tell others to do that so of course I must follow my own advice.

What I need to make very clear is that following your dream is difficult. 

It is easier to do what is usual.  What you’ve been doing all along…what everyone has been doing all along.  We all have grown up with an idea of how we should live our life and what we should do to accomplish that.  You know, go to school….get good grades….go to college….get a good job…stay there and make money….get married….have kids….retire and travel….die.

Okay, that might be oversimplifying, but you get my drift.

I will say I did follow the path laid out before more already.  Didn’t quite work out the way I wanted and while living it I wasn’t very happy.

So I diverted to the path “less traveled” and self published my first book.  It took me to places I never thought I would imagine.  I became more than I was before.  I was happy.  It was scary but it was fun!

I am there again.  I am, like most Americans, in a precarious position financially and yet the road “always traveled” feels horrible to me.  When I set foot on it my body actually exhibits the heebie jeebies.

My answer to this is to continue to live my dream but do it more effectively and with better expertise and mostly…not alone.

I guess what I am saying today is the doubts play at me. I worry and wake up some mornings thinking I should go back to the old way.  But then I think about how I feel when I am sitting and writing and seeing characters come together and bringing a story to life.  This is the bliss I want to live in my life.

Life is the journey right, so you have to ask yourself, do you want to be in an inside cabin never seeing the scenery passing you by?  Or would you rather have a balcony on the outside of the ship with the beauty and sights drawing the breath in your chest? 

Can you fall off the balcony and drown in the sea…sure, it’s possible.  But isn’t that part of the thrill?

I decided the thrill is worth the minutes I worry and draw myself back to the balcony of this ship of life.   I am going to be a success even if the most I ever do is take that road “less traveled” and end my days with a smile on my face.

Care to join me?

One thought on “The mind does terrible things!

Leave a Reply

